New Hunting & Firearm Restrictions in California

The Second Amendment makes it possible for qualified American citizens to protect themselves by bearing arms. Gun control laws make it possible to create a safe environment for people to use firearms responsibly. The Senate and Assembly are continually enacting new regulations to ensure the safety of citizens and confirm that national gun control measures are working. At Criminal Defense Hero, we want to make sure our readers are up to date on the new 2020 gun control laws.

  1. AB 1279 – This new bill increases the cost of filing a license to carry a concealed weapon. Previously, the price was capped to $100. However, County Sheriffs are now given the leeway to charge an equal amount to the actual costs of processing the license.
  2. AB 12 – Beginning September of this year, law enforcement officers can now file for Gun Violence Restraining Order (GVRO) on behalf of their agency. Additionally, respondents of GVROs can only renew the privileges after 5 years from the previous 3 years. The new bill also allows respondents to seek a request for terminating the restraining order once a year.
  3. AB 61 – Thanks to Phil Ting, employers, coworkers, employees, or teachers can now petition the court for GVRO, allowing police to disarm people that are deemed as a threat.
  4. AB 164 – The bill expanded to prohibit individuals banned from purchasing a firearm in another state from doing so in California as well.
  5. AB 1493 – This new bill allows people receiving GVRO orders to agree to the order of petition without showing up in court. The respondents will also be allowed to relinquish their firearms by filling out a form.
  6. AB 1669 – This bill increases the fees paid by buyers to the state to $31.19. The bill was effective from January 1st 2020.
  7. AB 339 – As of January 1st, 2021, law enforcement agencies will be required to have written policies and standards in place on the use of GVROs.
  8. AB 879 – In addition to the general license that vendors are required to have in order to make sales, the AB 879 now makes it mandatory for the same vendors to have a vendor license for selling “precursor parts” commencing July 1st, 2024. Violating this clause is subject to a misdemeanor conviction.
  9. AB 893 – The San Diego Del Mar Fairgrounds offers some of the largest shows in the 22nd District Agricultural Association. Beginning January 1st, 2021, this bill would prohibit the sale of firearms at the show. Only law enforcement agencies will be allowed to undertake their gun buyback events on the site.
  10. SB 61 – This senate bill restricts the purchasing of more than one handgun within a 30 day period. The bill was revised to include the purchase of semi-automatic rifles and long-gun firearms as well. In addition, SB 61 prohibits vendors from selling semi-automatic rifles to people under the age of 21, even if they have a hunting license.
  11. SB 172 – Currently, it is illegal to store a loaded handgun where a child or prohibited persons can easily access the firearm. With this bill, the same will be applied to unloaded guns. The bill also expands the law to apply to any firearm (not just handguns). Persons found in violation of this legislature will not be able to own a firearm for 10 years.
  12. SB 376 – This bill clarifies the ambiguous phrase “infrequent” to mean no more than “6 firearm transactions per year.” The bill was also revised and now requires that anyone manufacturing more than 50 firearms a year to have a license from the previous 100 firearms requirement.

Firearms offer great protection in the face of life-threatening danger if proper measures are taken to ensure the security of non-violent threats. As a gun owner, it is your responsibility to stay up to date on new laws to stay out of trouble. If you have been involved in a criminal case that involves guns, please contact us at Criminal Defense Hero. We are always available to guide clients on laws that may impact gun owners across the state.

Close Menu